06/03…of the day

Verse of the Day:
“When they call on Me, I will answer;
I will be with them in trouble.
I will rescue and honor them.
I will reward them with a long life
and give them My salvation.”
~Ps 91:15-16

Poem of the Day:
“IF you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;
If you can wait and not be tired waiting,
Or be lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
And yet dont look too good, not talk too wise:

If you can dream – and not make dreams your master;
If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim;
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same;
If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools…
~“If” by Rudyard Kipling

Excerpt of the Day:
“I was about to dig in again, knowing it would be alright, but I didn’t.
I shut my mouth. (erased what I’d written in the gchat window)
I paused.
And when I started typing again, I said something that changed my life: “Tell me why this is important to you.”

And she did.

It had nothing to do with the reasons that triggered me. In fact, even as she explained, she affirmed my right to have a different opinion than hers about this article. But she told me why it was beautiful to HER and in that way, SHE became more beautiful to me. Because she let me see her and hear her story with all its unique markings and pain and hope and love.

This is how to be friends with people who are radically different than you. This is why it is VITAL to be friends with people who are radically different than you.”
~“I did Something Radical” by Emily Maynard

Currently listening to “Four the Record” by Miranda Lambert

Leave a Reply

